Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tech2480 Posts: 43, Reputation: 1

Nov 19, 2009, 11:28 AM
    Running slowly.
    Hello I wasn't exactly sure where to post this question as I'm new to the computers section here, usually I'm wrenching on cars and trucks.

But I have a desktop that is running xp and it has a pentium processor at 3.2 ghz with 1 gig of ram. I don't understand why it takes so long for it to load applications?

I have a laptop (xp as well) on the same network with the celeron processor at 1.3 ghz and 736 megs of ram and it runs just fine.

The desktop really shows it's issue when you power it on and then open up IE... is this an OS problem or something to do with IE? Should I reinstall the OS on this computer? Or maybe run a different browser like Firefox? But at the same time the other day I tried opening properties under my computer and it seemed to take forever! I know I've heard of people "cleaning" up their HDD's or removing things from opening when the computer starts up, would that be the cause? I'm about a 5 or a 6 on a 1-10 scale of knowledge when it comes to computers so step by step would be a big help!

Help/suggestions/anything would be greatly appreciated! This is a computer that my mother uses and I know it's starting to be very bothersome for her. Thank you in advance!
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Nov 19, 2009, 12:57 PM

You can always reinstall the OS. Some professionals do it every year or so, just to keep their systems running.

Most often, it's because you're loading too much "stuff". Is your system tray (bottom right of the screen) filled with icons? (And why does every company think they MUST have an icon in the tray?)

Download and run CCleaner:

CCleaner - Home

That will clean out the crap in your temporary directory and other places.

Download and run MalwareBytes:

Malwarebytes.org