Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chowdmouse Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 7, 2006, 03:05 PM
    Working out of State and Tax Issues
    Hello,

I'm a IT consultant working for a company (i.e. I'm just a cog in the Man's machine, not an independent :D ) I'm currently on a long term project in another state. I generally fly in on Monday and fly out on Thursday and work from home on Friday. I get a per diem for food and reimbursed for other expenses (car rental, airfare, etc.) Recently a colleague brought up the fact that since we're approaching our 1 year anniversary on-site (he seemed to think that was some sort of milestone date) there might be federal or state tax implications. I'm checking out a few different sources (HR department, IRS.gov, etc.) and thought I'd post a question here as well. If anyone can give me some information regarding this, I'd appreciate it.

Cheers,
    CM
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Nov 7, 2006, 04:54 PM
    CM:

Your friend is correct about the tax implications, or at least he would be if you had an apartment in the other state. The IRS only considers work assignments of less than a year as "temporary".

However, the fact that you travel in on Monday, stay (I presume) in a hotel, then fly out on Thursday supports that this assignment is in fact a true temporary assignment.

You MAY have to pay taxes on your per diem (depends on whether your employer's reimbursement plan is accountable or non-accountable).

Other than that, you should have no problems.
    chowdmouse Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 7, 2006, 08:12 PM
    Thanks for the note ATE.

I have actually been staying in a corporate apartment which is billed directly to my employer, but as far as I can tell from some IRS information I've found my "tax home" is still the state where my wife and I live. Does the corporate apartment (vs. a hotel) make a difference?