Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dx4530 Posts: 37, Reputation: 1

Oct 18, 2009, 05:07 PM
    Student credit/debit/prepaid card
    I'm currently a student and I'm not qualified to have credit card or checking account I just don't want to screw myself up I don't want to give out any personnel info... as you know there are a lot of scam-meres out there looking to get people who don't know too much, like students etc. Lets get to the point... is there any type of prepaid credit card I can easily get just like a prepaid cellphone?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Oct 18, 2009, 05:12 PM

Hello d:

Sure. I think you can get them at Walmart.

excon
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Oct 18, 2009, 05:16 PM

Um... I believe the correct term for a "pre-paid credit card" is gift card. They sell them all over. You can get one from mastercard, amex, or visa. Probably others companies too that I'm forgetting. Some of them have an activation fee. And then if you want to put more money on it, you have to pay to do that. And some even have monthly fees if I recall correctly. Basically, they're one of the biggest rip offs I can think of. And working as a cashier I hate them because people try to pay with them and if the balance is even a penny less than what they're paying us, the computer reads it as $0 on the card and I have to sit there with the person guessing just how much money is left on their card to override it.

Now why can't you get a checking account even? How old are you?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Oct 18, 2009, 05:39 PM