Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Robert1969 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 16, 2009, 12:28 PM
    Multiple tax exemptions with J1 visa from Netherlands
    Hi,
    I worked in the US as a research scholar with a J1 visa from 2004 until 2007. For the first 2 years I was tax exempt according to the Dutch-US tax treaty but lost the exemption retroactively when I overstayed for a year.
    At the moment I am a resident of the Netherlands but I want to go back to the US as a research scholar again in 2010. It is not clear to me if I would be tax exempt or not. In some tax-treaties from other countries (like France) it explicitely says that exemption can be claimed only once and there appears to be no mention of this in the Dutch-US treaty. Does this mean that I would be tax-exempt again?

Thanks,
    Robert
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Oct 16, 2009, 11:15 PM

Ye, if your return back to U.S. on J1 research after spending a couple of years in your home country, you will get treaty benefits once again (unless the tax treaty between your country and the U.S. disallows it).

Between to J1 periods you must meet residency requirement of country.
    Five Rings Posts: 459, Reputation: 7

Oct 19, 2009, 09:26 AM

Here I have to reluctantly this agree with MukatA.

The treaty (Art. 21) plainly states:
    1. An individual who visits one of the States for a period not exceeding two years for the purpose of teaching or engaging in research at a university, college or other recognized educational institution in that State, and who was immediately before that visit a resident of the other State shall be taxable only in that other State on any remuneration for such teaching or research for a period not exceeding two years from the date he first visits the first-mentioned State for such purpose. If the visit exceeds two years, the