Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    blackberry Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 30, 2003, 01:31 PM
    Buying a puppy
    Hello,

I'm a college student and I'm moving out to stay in a dorm next month. But I'm scared to live alone and I was thinking of getting a puppy. I'm a dog lover and I always wanted a dog of my own. My boyfriend promised to buy me a Chihuahua puppy for Christmas. But I'm worried that when I won't have time for the puppy she would be left alone. Is it okay if I leave a puppy alone sometimes? Or should I just not get one and buy small pets instead like hamsters?
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jul 30, 2003, 05:19 PM
    buying a puppy
    The first issue is will you be allowed to have any pet in the dorm. I occasionally take my dog guide to be puppies on college campuses. Usually we are besieged by dog deprived students who can;' t have their dog at school. Even much of you off campus housing forbids dogs.

If you can find housing that allows dogs, maybe it will work. Dogs do fine with couples that both work. It is not how much time they are left alone, but how much time you spend without. Students need to spend a great deal of time studying, which can be in your room with your dog. Five minutes playing with it, and then back to work, will be good for both of you.

I am glad you are planing ahead. Dogs are a 24/7 thing for 10 - 20 years. A big commitment for a young person. See http://www.dogsbestfriend.com/. It might be better to start with an older dog. Your shelters slaughter them every day for lack of a good home. Little puppies need frequent, fast trips outside, and meals at 3 regular times each day. An older dog can be fed once a day in the morning or evening.