Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ptolomi Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Nov 2, 2006, 08:15 PM
    Nursing Home Resident needs help
    Hello everybody,

I hope you all can help me. I'm a nursing home administrator in Texas. One of my residents was recently turned down by Medicaid because his bank statements showed he had, at one point in the near past, too much money in his bank account. When I researched the issue, I found out that his son, who he had given power of attorney to manage his, (my resident's), financial affairs had drained all of his 200K plus out of my resident's bank account and had used the money to build a house.

Now, I know the power of attorney really changes makes things difficult but does my resident have any legal standing on the house being built. So the question is, can my resident, because the son used his cash to build the house, attach his name to the deed of the property. Or, can my resident file a lien against the home and recover his missing cash?

This is very important to my resident. At this time, he doesn't have enough money to pay for his stay at the nursing home. This gentleman is 94 years old and he's stressing out because he doesn't have the means to even bury himself. His son has basically dumped him on our facility and as the Administrator I'm the only advocate he has.

I sure could use some honest help.

Thanks to all.
    puppetkicks Posts: 24, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2006, 03:56 AM
    It depends on what the power of attorney papers had specified. Now if it says that he only has power of attorney to take care of his fathers bills then he just broke the law. Giving you power to get money out of the bank to pay your fathers bills does not give you rites to take the money out for your own and you might want to check the paper to see if his is supposed to keep recietes of the money he spends to take care of his father. I would call an attorney as soon as possible.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member