Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shihouzhuge Posts: 131, Reputation: 6

Oct 6, 2009, 08:54 AM
    Can you find the corret answer instantly?(get in)
    I am a Chinese student. Now I have an interesting question for you.It's an English exam,so just show me your answer...
    Almost half of my classmates chose the wrong answer... :o:

Which clour do you like b( ) ?

A.bill B.baby C.best D.better
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Oct 6, 2009, 09:50 AM

I can see why half the class would get this wrong, as there are two possible right answers! It all depends on how many choices of colors you are given. If given two choices, you say "which color do you like better," and if given three or more choices you would say "which color do you like best." However - the phrases I would actualy use in conversation are "which color do you like more" and "which color do you like most?"

Oct 6, 2009, 09:30 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ebaines View Post
    I can see why half the class would get this wrong, as there are two possible right answers! It all depends on how many choices of colors you are given. If given two choices, you say "which color do you like better," and if given three or more choices you would say "which color do you like best." However - the phrases I would actualy use in conversation are "which color do you like more" and "which color do you like most?"
    :o If I tell you the truth , you may be surprised by them...
    Half of them choose the answer 'baby'...

You know,we like whatching American movies , and it's common in the movies when a girl asked her boyfriend like "Which clour do you like ,baby ?"
    Now you get the point... :D
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Oct 6, 2009, 10:15 PM

I like ebaine's answer. But what if one aid "Which color do you like best"? And I said red. Now there were no objects I just answered "What is your favorite color?" asked in a different way.