Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bleed2loveme Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 24, 2009, 05:21 AM
    what is the best way to do all this?
    Hi everyone.

I used to live in council property so I have no experience in buying houses at all, in fact the whole thing confuses me..

I met my partner just over 6 years ago, started dating, then when we started to get serious we decided it would be the best thing for me to move in with him seeing as he already owned his own home.

We have lived here ever since, and have had the "future" talk, we both know we want to get married and settle down at some point, and basically we have decided to sell up and move back to my home town of manchester.

Our house is not on the market yet as we still need to finish certain things off, small things, such as fence the garden, paint most of the rooms, new internal doors etc.

I have a couple of questions if that is OK..

1:when do we start to look for our new home? The way I see it there's no point in looking now as if we see a house we like there is nothing we can do about it as we need the money from the sale of this house before we can buy another one?

2: what will be the cheapest way to get our stuff over to england from northern ireland? As in large furniture? Or would it be easier to just sell it and buy new when we get a new house?

3:when is the best time to get our house valued? Now? Or when we have finished off all the little things that need doing?

and finally, would it be cheaper to sell through an agent or to sell privately?

sorry for sounding so dumb lol, and thanks in advance for anyone who replies.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 24, 2009, 05:42 AM

I don't know what the real estate market is like in Northern Ireland, but I would do a look around and see what the houses are selling for in your area. Do a little ground work to see what the market is like.