Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Sep 20, 2009, 10:31 AM
    Afghanistan - time to go!
    Hello:

I am a Vietnam war veteran. I was a supporter of that war until one serendipitous moment in 1968. I was watching the news one night. First they showed the body count. Then they nonchalantly discussed the SHAPE of the table they were going to sit it... whilst my brothers were being slaughtered..

It was one of those life changing moments for me... I IMMEDIATELY became rabidly anti-war, even though I, myself, was a veteran of that war.

I had another one of those moments today... On ALL the Sunday morning news shows, the pundits wondered whether our fighting men and women should stay in Afghanistan... They wondered what there was to win? Then on This Week, they told us that 14 of our young people gave their lives on the battlefield... while pinched nosed people, again pondered inanity.

Time to go.

excon
    inthebox Posts: 787, Reputation: 179

Sep 20, 2009, 10:36 AM

Thanks for your service EX, I agree.

G&P
    Catsmine Posts: 3,826, Reputation: 739
    Pest Control Expert

Sep 20, 2009, 11:46 AM
    Central America here, Ex, but I understand your feelings. I truly do. I do think, however, that we need to accomplish something while we're there, or our brothers (and sisters) sacrifice will be wasted.
    jmjoseph Posts: 2,727, Reputation: 1244
    Ultra Member

Sep 20, 2009, 12:04 PM
    If you compare the attitude of Americans during WWII, and all of the conflicts since, it shames me to no end. We, Americans, should be ashamed of the large percentage of arrogant, selfish, non-appreciative, citizens that call themselves patriotic.

Every day, men and women all over the world, away from their loved ones, risk their lives to protect our freedom. The very freedom that our ancestor's died for. The founding fathers would ship them all to an island somewhere if it happened back then.