Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tene08 Posts: 27, Reputation: 2

Sep 19, 2009, 11:08 PM
    Teachers and salary
    Why does salary deter people from becoming teachers?
    artlady Posts: 4,208, Reputation: 1477
    Ultra Member

Sep 19, 2009, 11:23 PM

It doesn't!
    I am a retired teacher and I have 6 teachers in my family.
    No one ever thought about money.
    Teachers do what they do because they love to teach and they love kids and they love to make this world a better place.
    If you truly wanted to teach,money would not dissuade you.
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Sep 20, 2009, 02:29 PM

I have to disagree with the previous post. Some people would like to switch careers to become teachers and make a difference, but they cannot afford to live on a beginning teacher's salary.
    logan176 Posts: 341, Reputation: 6

Mar 4, 2010, 10:40 PM

Some people don't want to enter the teaching field because there is the opportunity to make much, much more in a white collar job. I stress the word "opportunity" because of the lack of job security.

I've been teaching for 8 years and I am lucky enough to be in a well-paying district. My wife's pay scale is quite the opposite. My wife has been teaching for 5 years and it will take her another 15 years to reach my current salary!

Art lady is partially correct. If you were really meant to be a teacher you will find a way to make it work for you. Millions and millions of people learn to live very happy lives with much less than teachers. I have thought about it many times during my first year as a teacher and there is no other profession I could picture myself in.

That being said, you do need to put food on your table and pay your bills. That's where I agree with teacherjenn.
    sulphurbulldog Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 18, 2010, 03:05 PM