Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    melindaj2 Posts: 34, Reputation: 1

Sep 13, 2009, 10:34 AM
    Installing Tub and shower
    Hi there,
    My husband is getting a little too old - there was a once upon a time he was excellent on all phases of construction, electrical & plumbing but there are certain things he says that does not make any sense to me even that I am a novice. (Let me add - he didn't practice his profession for five years and he could be out of the loop)

He built a tub and shower for me and all we needed was the faucet and he wanted me to get the shower head that comes with two handles & a spout and the one I got was the Glacier Bay tub and shower with one handle. Besides getting upset... he said, "this will do the trick but you are not going to like it! When you want to take a BATH the shower head will be on along with the spout - there will be water poring out from both. I tried asking what makes him believe that but he got more upset trying to explain to me.
    Well I don't think manufactures will make a product like that. If I will be drawing water from the tub I will be getting wet from the shower? He said, I know these things when I see one. Apparently he is looking at the instrument that goes behind the wall - the diverter?

Melidna:confused:
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Sep 13, 2009, 10:44 AM
    Hi Melidna,

I guess hubby is out of the loop! Where did he ever get the idea that diverters don't work? That's what diverters do. They divert! Where's yours? In the valve or in the spout. Tell me and I'll do my best to put hubbys fears to test. Cheers, Tom
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Sep 13, 2009, 01:58 PM