Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    morgaine300 Posts: 6,561, Reputation: 276
    Uber Member

Aug 22, 2009, 01:49 AM
    Clough - music stuff
    I would appreciate knowing more about your piano playing sometime. But, that would probably best to be done by starting a new thread.
    My piano playing? It stinks. Well, OK - I can play, some days better than others. Non-musicians think I'm great, but a real musician would know better. LOL.

Yes, I'm a musician. :) (If our profiles came back, I think it's in there.) I just got really burnt on everything I was doing so I up and quit. Piano's what I started on as a kid, but it kind of went down the tubes. But I also started clarinet later, which became my main instrument and I was always better at that than piano. I also used to teach it - I once took a "leave of absense" but never returned to it. I have several other instruments around, but these days I pretty much just mess on the piano cause it's easy to sit & play and not mess with reeds or get holes in my fingers from the guitar.

As for Quad... very cool. Was that Holst's 1st Suite I heard? I have a recording of me doing that nifty solo clarinet part on the 2nd movement. However, it stinks cause it was just a little portible cassette recorder. And you made me pull out my CD of Cleveland Symphonic Winds with Frederick Fennell and listen to it and waste all my free time. :-) (I just hadn't heard the Holst for so long... well, I was compelled.)

But I got spooked by that audition thing. I only had to audition for one thing and it scared the pants off me. I think I've got the Voxman around somewhere, but I lost half my stuff when I moved. Just curious to see what those etude requirements are. Not that I'm going to audition, mind you. I'd be too pooped from the drive to play when I got there. :-)

I do have to admit that it made me miss it.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Aug 22, 2009, 02:08 AM
    Hey, morgaine300!