Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CarterWilson61 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 20, 2009, 11:38 AM
    Hole in bathtub
    Greetings All,

I am new at this. But here it goes... My husband and I are renting from a Realtor in Springfield Missouri. Our bathtub has acquired a crack in it due to age and it has been over 4 months now with many attempts to ask the Landlord to fix this crack and he has not. He did send a man to see the crack and estimate the job cost, but he was never seen or heard from again. The crack is MUCH bigger now and the only thing our landlord has told us is to get duct tape and tape it. We have done this and our tub is now unsafe for us to use it, since the hole is so big and we keep adding tape to the hole as it gets bigger. We have to go other places to shower now. Not to mention the mold and mildew smell we are getting from the tub floor under the hole. Thank you for your time.
    Respectfully, CarterWilson61
    binx44 Posts: 1,028, Reputation: 88
    Ultra Member

Aug 20, 2009, 11:51 AM

I think possibly going to the tennancy board would be your best bet and asking if there is anything that you could do to get this looked after. Mold is a health hazard and its not right that he said he'd get it fixed.. I worked in an apartment complex as a do it all kind of worker.. I fixed plumbing, painted, cleaned... did anything and if we had a tub with rust, a hole, or a crack we ripped it right out and replaced it due to it could become a health or safety hazard
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Aug 22, 2009, 06:55 AM
    Hello C:

You landlord is violating your rights... Specifically, the warranty of habitability. Essentially, it says that you are to be provided with a HABITABLE residence... NOT being able to take a shower, makes your home UN-inhabitable...