Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    g13544055 Posts: 22, Reputation: 2

Aug 20, 2009, 06:43 AM
    Bonds and Investment.
    Hi guys,
    Just a quick question as I am studying this at the minute. Say I purchase a bond for a nominal value of £50,000, on a maturity of 6yrs, with 5% annual interest (non compound just to make it easy). The following year I want to sell this bond on, but interest rates are now 8% say, with the same maturity date. Obviously someone would rather buy a bond at £50,000 with the higher interest rate, so I would have to sell mine for less to attract customers, as they will want the same yield.

Taking the flat yield to be = (coupon rate/market price) x 100%
    Coupon rate on my bond = £2500 per annum.

So, 8%= (2500/market price) x 100%
    therefore market price = 31250

So after year one I have made 2500 in interest, and can sell my bond at the dearest of 31250, so I'm actually losing money because I spent 50,000, and only getting back 31250+2500=36750. Is that right? Lol.

Would you advise me to hold on to my bond, and wait until it matures, or at least until interest rates fall?

Basically I want to know if I have done this right, and also, do you not get your investment back from a bond until the redemption date? Or is it paid back annually?

Thanks, B.:D
    ArcSine Posts: 969, Reputation: 106

Aug 20, 2009, 07:56 AM
    Actually, whether you hold or sell, you'll earn an overall return of 5%, either way, assuming you reinvest the sales proceeds at the prevailing market rate. That's probably counterintuitive at first, but follow through a simple illustration:

I'll use a zero-coupon bond, and annual compounding, for simplicity.

I buy a two-year zero which matures at 1,000. The paper is priced to yield 5%, so I pay 907.03. Certainly, by holding to maturity, my annual return is = 5%. So far so good.