Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    notcoolenough Posts: 95, Reputation: 7

Aug 15, 2009, 03:04 PM
    Disability Ending.
    I have been collecting disability for a few years now. Since maybe 2004 or 2005.

Today I received a letter:

"We have information about your earnings that could affect your social security disabilty payments. Based on the information, it appears we will decide that your disability ended because of substantial work January 2007 and that you are not entitled to payments for

April 2007 through September 2007
    November 2007 through January 2008"

Now does this mean they have stopped me completely? I know all about the "9 month trial" thing, and yes my work, totaled is 9 months, BUT it is extremely erratic. You can obviously tell that from the 8 failed attempts, since 2005, at keeping a job, that I am unstable and am still having problems. None of the jobs lasted for more than 5 or 6 months. It doesn't make sense that they would come to the conclusion that they did. I am extremely confused AND VERY WORRIED as I obviously depend on the money to live and I have multiple expenses.

ANY input at all is greatly appreciated and if you need more info, please let me know. THANK YOU.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Aug 15, 2009, 03:12 PM

If there is an appeal page sign it and turn it in asap. Once they shut your case then you have very likely may have to go back and reapply from scratch.

If they are currently paying you and not having a problem with your hours now then it is probably more a matter of them saying they over paid you and want the money back. If that is the case then they will take so much per month out of you disability until it is paid.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 15, 2009, 03:13 PM

The notice says that it appears that SS will end your benefits. Is this a notice of a Hearing? It does not indicate that your benefits were terminated.