Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jinxprotocol Posts: 28, Reputation: 5

Aug 12, 2009, 05:54 PM
    Looking Back In Time
    I recently watched a program on the Science network about the history of the universe, and a representative from Hubble said that pointing the Hubble Telescope into deep space represented looking back in time. What does this mean, exactly? It's not a literal statement, is it? Does it relate to how long light takes to reach us? I'm just getting into learning about the cosmos, so please help me! Thanks.
    HelpinHere Posts: 1,062, Reputation: 144
    Ultra Member

Aug 12, 2009, 06:00 PM

Yes, it does relate to the speed of light. And, yes, it is literal. However, it doesn't mean we are seeing what happened on earth back in time.

To put simply. Something 10 light years away, a star. When we see the light from that star, we are seeing the light it made 10 years ago. It may look like a white dwarf now, but between the time it took for the light to reach our eyes, that star could have died.
    Does that make sense?
    JimGunther Posts: 436, Reputation: 38

Aug 12, 2009, 07:06 PM

I took a lot of astronomy in college and I can guanrantee you that when you look up in the sky, you are not seeing the stars or other distant objects as they are now, but what they looked light when the light that is hitting your eyes now was generated from their surface, this could be billions of years ago.

When you look at the Sun (don't make it a habit), you are seeing it as it was about 8 minutes ago.
    Capuchin Posts: 5,255, Reputation: 656
    Uber Member

Aug 21, 2009, 07:20 AM

I would argue that it is be meaningless to say that how we see the stars is not how they actually are. It doesn't really confer any actual information.

This might be a little too philosophical though :)
    Ultra Member

Aug 21, 2009, 01:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Capuchin View Post