Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    John Larry Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 11, 2009, 04:25 PM
    Early withdrawl from IRA that traded stocks
    I have an IRA through a brokerage company that allows individual stock trading. I have been trading stocks since January 2009 so all the proceeds/losses are short term. I need to sell some of the stock while in the IRA and make a cash withdrawl. I am only 53 so it will be an early withdrawl. I am making the withdrawl to pay for my daughters college as well as general income due to my current unemployment. My question is if the short term capital gains tax applies or is the money just taxed at my normal tax rate. Also would the money used to pay for her college be exempt from the 10% penalty?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Aug 18, 2009, 05:43 AM

Your withdrawals are taxed at regular income rates regardless of whether any gains in the underlying stocks were short term or long term, or whether the account earned dividends, interest, etc. or had capital losses. I am assuming here that this account is a traditional IRA where your own contributions were made with pre-tax money- if you used any after-tax money (i.e. you made non-deductible contributions) then a portion of the withdrawal is exempt from income tax. And yes, money withdrawn from your IRA for higher education expenses for yourself, your spouse, or child is exempt from the 10% early withdrawal penalty.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Aug 18, 2009, 07:15 AM

I believe, that if you read the IRS regulations, you will find that capital gains/losses can only be taken after all IRA money from all traditional orRoth accounts are withdrawn. e.g. WHen all Roth moey is exhausted, you can do capital gain/loss. The investment companies don't even create an average cost basis for this scenereo. At least that's the way I understand it.
    Expert

Aug 18, 2009, 07:26 AM