Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Smile4life22 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 2, 2009, 11:45 PM
    Shoplifting in Texas
    THREE weeks ago, I was detained for switching a price tag from $18 to $5. The security caught me on a tape as they said, I didn't get banned from the store, they called the police and they gave me a Class C Misdemeanor, Theft (Shoplifting). I have to go to the court within 10 days, but today I received a letter demanding that I need to pay $300. It says that the payment of any demand made upon does not prevent criminal prosecution under a related criminal statute provision and the payment many not be used in any court proceeding by our client as an admission of liability.

Do I need to hire a lawyer to remove it completely from my record as I have to take care of some paperwork with the immigration at this time? This is my first time offense of any kind.

I was wondering what the best course of action is at this point. For example, what are the chances that the case get dismissed? Also, would this effect my job in any kind especially I have to have a full background check every year?

Any other advice would be more than welcomed and appreciated. Thanks.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Aug 3, 2009, 05:25 AM

A. Does the paper say any date due that they are requiring you to pay because I would show it to a Lawyer before I paid it. Not that you wouldn't be required to pay it but you need legal advice before you do pay it. Then even though it says does not prevent criminal prosecution and many not be used in any court proceeding by our client as an admission of liability I would still have it brought to the Judges attention. I have heard other people say that a store charged them $300. And then the court charged them another $300. And said they should not have paid the store.