Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jleo3 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Jul 31, 2009, 08:46 AM
    Can you teach an old dog new tricks?
    Hello, fellow dog lovers! I know that this issue has been around for a long time, but I am looking for some advice. My boyfriend and I met and hit it off right away because we are both crazy about our dogs and they are the same to each other. My little girl is a 3 year old shiba inu. I worked very closely with her as a puppy and she has retained all that she has learned. She can sit, lay down, speak, roll over (clockwise and counterclockwise), play dead, and give me her right/left paw (depending on which hand I provide).
    My boyfriend's dog, a 6 year old "schnug" (schnauzer/pug) did not receive the same attention as a puppy. He is very paw shy, which, I am sure contributes to the problem. I have been working with him for close to 2 years without any progress. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong. I say "paw" while petting his paw, praising him and, occasionally, giving him treats. I also demonstrate with the shiba in front of him, so he can see. He's a smart little guy and LOVES attention, but is having difficulty with this one. Any suggestions?
    jleo3 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Jul 31, 2009, 08:48 AM
    I should also add that he is the master of "sitting" and "laying down". It's just that he is limited to those two tricks.
    shazamataz Posts: 6,642, Reputation: 1244
    Uber Member

Jul 31, 2009, 09:17 PM

Some dogs can be very difficult to train, almost impossible.

My mum is a dog groomer and she has been this one ladies dog for about 6 years now... it still missbehaves as bad as ever even with grroming every 6 weeks for those 6 years.

All you can really do is keep trying.
    Have you tried different techniques?
    What worked for your Shiba may not work for the Pug mix.