Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gcuncliff Posts: 25, Reputation: 1

Jul 29, 2009, 09:04 AM
    Speeding ticket in NJ
    I was driving in NJ got pulled over, cop said I was going 56mph in a 40mph which is 16 over and a 4 point ticket. I went back to check the sign and the spot where he hit me with radar was a 45mph zone about 7 blocks later it changes to a 40mph zone the location where he pulled me over was in the 40mph zone but the location on the ticket says the spot where he hit me with radar which was a 45mph zone. The ticket says he got my speed with a radar device. Its my first time getting pulled over and I'm driving for over 7 years. I pleaded not guilty and I have a court date. What should I do?
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Jul 29, 2009, 09:17 AM

Take a picture of the sign and where he said he got you with the radar. If you can get it in one photo that would be best so you can show it is in relation to that sign.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jul 29, 2009, 09:20 AM

Tough call, he may have first hit you in a 45 mph zone but he may have continued to keep his radar on when you entered the 40 zone. I'd try the picture approach but you are still guilty of speeding but maybe less points. If you are convincing the judge may though out the ticket completely since it appears defective.
    gcuncliff Posts: 25, Reputation: 1

Jul 29, 2009, 10:21 AM
    He couldn't have kept his radar on me until I got to the 40mph zone cause it was about 5 blocks from where he was parked and he had to pull out to come get me and as far as I know you can't radar when you moving.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Jul 29, 2009, 10:24 AM

His chasing you he could go by his odometer but that is not admissible in court so I think you need to go and stick up for yourself and hope they only get you with the original point of his getting you with the radar.