Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kcsmom Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 3, 2003, 07:20 PM
    Is this relationship healthy?
    I am a mother of a 14 month old daughter. I work full time as a therapist. During my time at work my mother cares for my daughter half-the-week and my mother-in-law the other half. They both watch my daughter in our home. I very much want my daughter to have a good relationship with both sets of grandparents. However, for the past couple of months my daughter seems to have a better attachment with her grandparents than she does with me and her dad. Whenever, the grandparents are present my daughter does not want to have anything to do with us. My husband or I did not have involved grandparents so I do not know if this is a healthy attachment. When they are not around I feel that her attachment to me is what it should be. Is this a healthy attachment? Can she have a secure attachment with me and prefer her grandmothers? I am very sad and worried so please help.
    EVS Posts: 93, Reputation: 3

Mar 14, 2004, 01:57 AM
    is this relationship healthy?
    Hi there

Firstly, it must be brought to your attention that the most important bonding, learning and impresional age of a child in between birth and seven years old.

Most of a child's personality is based on this age grouping and it is extremely unfortunate that you aare not around with your daughter during this period of her life.

You are goinf to ned to show much, much, much more loving and caring during this time, if you want your daughter to become attached to you and your husband.

I cannot impress on you more how important it is to have a loving and caring environment for your daughter to grow up in.

I do symphathise with you as there is so many people like you that need to work to keep your head above water. Just do your best...

Lots of love and prays

Regards
    Peanuts
    Scorpio848 Posts: 36, Reputation: 4

Jun 22, 2004, 09:21 AM