Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mradventure Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jul 22, 2009, 11:35 AM
    What White Metal Should I Choose for an Engagement Ring?
    I'm new to the Ask Me Help Desk, but I'm hoping someone can help!
    I've been researching engagement rings, and I am really curious for some input on what the best white metal to get for the band/setting would be. I'm leaning toward platinum, but what would you go with? Platinum or white gold? What have been your experiences with the two?
    Thanks for your help!
    danielnoahsmommy Posts: 2,506, Reputation: 297
    Ultra Member

Jul 22, 2009, 11:37 AM

Platinum! Love it but very expensive.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Jul 22, 2009, 11:40 AM

I like platinum or tri gold

I don't know what is most durable.
    I heard that platinum is more valuable than gold (at least sometimes)

I would go with finding what you like and the metal secondary unless you are getting it custom made.
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Jul 22, 2009, 11:41 AM

I love my white gold ring. I've only had it about 6 months but no complaints so far. But I've got to admit, if platinum had been in the budget, I'd have gone for platinum.
    spitvenom Posts: 1,266, Reputation: 373
    Ultra Member

Jul 22, 2009, 11:48 AM

Ask yourself this do you want to spend the money on the metal or the diamond? I got my wife white gold because I was able to get a much bigger, clearer, and flawless diamond. If I would have went with Platinum she wouldn't have a diamond that makes peoples jaws drop!!

Jul 28, 2009, 02:11 PM