Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    justice06 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2006, 03:06 PM
    False Arrest
    I was falsly arrested in Texas for a felony crime, does anybody know a lawyer that will handle the case and sue the county for false arrest?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 17, 2006, 03:26 PM
    First of all, you must give more details.

Secondly, this is a world wide site, so the chances of you finding an lawyer in your area may be slim.
    justice06 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2006, 03:33 PM
    Are you a lawyer? The detective blatantly refuses to do his detective job, he talked to the suspect and let him go.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 17, 2006, 03:38 PM
    No, I am not a lawyer, however I was a legal assistant, paralegal and the like prior to moving on to medicine.

I was just trying to give you a heads up that it may be hard to find someone in your particular area to answer your question.

As vague as your question is so far, it may be hard to get anyone to answer at all.

Just a little info to help you out.
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Oct 17, 2006, 03:41 PM
    Justice, all you can do is
    1. Summarize what you feel is your case into 120 seconds, and
    2. Call around your area for attorneys who believe you have a case that can be won (so that they'll give you good info over the phone instead of scheduling a long or expensive consultation).

Keep in mind the tough truth: Many of them will take your case knowing they'll make good money off you whether you win or lose.

If it were me I'd be pressing friends and family for an honest attorney that will tell you straight up whether you have a good case or not. There is no sense, I'm sure you'll agree, in pressing a case that has a slim chance of winning... unless money (that you'd spend to have it filed, investigated and pursued) is not an issue for you.