Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bestclipperfan Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 16, 2009, 04:55 PM
    Handicap ticket.
    Hi I'm new to this . I recently received a ticket for parking in a handicap space . I have a friend that is handicapped but he does not have a placard because he can't drive.I was just outside my car no more than 5-10 feet away . I moved my car away from the handicap space in front of the officer and I still received the ticket even when I was explaining to the officer that I am moving my car . What forms can my friend obtain so I can prove it was an unjust mistake . Was it wrong what I did Please help me!.
    HelpinHere Posts: 1,062, Reputation: 144
    Ultra Member

Jul 16, 2009, 05:25 PM

Really, it's your word against the officer's. I may be wrong, but unless the officer saw that you were helping your friend from a handicapped space, then immediately moving out of it, or can prove that, then you could still get into trouble...
    I could be wrong though, it's happened before! XD
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 16, 2009, 05:39 PM

If you or the other person did not have a permit, there is no form to use, you pay the fine since you were in the wrong.

Your friend does not have to own a car to get a window card ( at least in my state)

If you were parked, even for a couple minutes in a handicap space, you deserve a ticket, that is plain and simple.

Officer say you in space and gave you a ticket.

If your friend is handicap, you could let him get a permit for handicap parking, appeal in court with you, explain he did not have the permit yet but does not.

But most likely since you did not have one at the time, you will still pay the fine.

And I will add a personal note which I normally don't.