Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cleaninglady81 Posts: 28, Reputation: 2

Jul 12, 2009, 11:17 AM
    When is an investigation complete
    Does an arrest have to be made in order for an investigation to be over? When is it officially over.
    kaseyatim Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Jul 12, 2009, 04:05 PM

Depends on the crime I suppose but if no guily party or resolution is found it could be closed unfavorabaly I would think after a certain amout of time you also should look into the statue of limitations for that crime after the statur of limitations the case could be closed I'm not a lawyer though just a friendly neighbor lol
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jul 12, 2009, 04:09 PM

Hello again, c:

I thought we said goodnight... Oh well. The investigation is over when they make an arrest or when the statute of limitations expires, whichever comes first. In YOUR case, that statute of limitations is probably one year. It runs from the time the crime was reported.

excon

Jul 12, 2009, 04:17 PM

Yeah I posted this a little bit ago when I was still looking for answers thank you for answering thou and yea you really do keep up with what is going on here don't cha. Thanks
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jul 12, 2009, 04:56 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by kaseyatim View Post
    depends on the crime i suppose but if no guily party or resolution is found it could be closed unfavorabaly i would think after a certian amout of time you also should look into the statue of limitations for that crime after the statur of limitations the case could be closed im not a lawyer though just a friendly neighbor lol

What?

Jul 12, 2009, 06:13 PM