Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Seaya Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 8, 2009, 09:12 AM
    What does it mean to have "issues".
    What does it mean to have issues? People tell me I have issues, but I don't understand them. Dumb question I know, but years of counseling does not answer this question. I am not stupid, as I have a Masters Degree. I internalize and understand things more if they are written. I am a visual learner. The spoken word doesn't mean as much to me as the written word. Sounds weird. Friends say that I don't take advice, and have made huge mistakes in the past. I write and type volumes. My friends say that I know something about everything, and an ex-wife called me an encyclopedia of information, trivia or serious issues. They are impressed by my intelligence and knowledge. I have had issues all my life with Attention Deficit. I recently found a letter my mother wrote to a friend when I was 3 years old and she was telling someone that I was a real handful. I found all of my report cards from grade 1-12. They have ongoing comments about applying myself, lack of attention, and not finishing classwork. Yes, ADD does follow you into adulthood. Please help.
    Perito Posts: 3,139, Reputation: 150
    Ultra Member

Jul 8, 2009, 09:16 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Seaya View Post
    What does it mean to have issues?
    Friends say that I don't take advice, and have made huge mistakes in the past.
    I have had issues all my life with Attention Deficit.
    Basically, it means that they think that you could be doing some things that you're not doing. It sounds like you really do understand what they are saying, you apparently don't want to do what they are suggesting.

I have a number of adult friends with ADD. They do have problems, but they also figure out ways to compensate for these problems so they don't become life-long "stumbling blocks".
    tvamelia Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 11, 2009, 10:16 PM