Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Catsmine Posts: 3,826, Reputation: 739
    Pest Control Expert

Jul 1, 2009, 02:33 PM
    What do you use?
    This starts a little chatty, but I'm interested in which tools our hunters use.

I prefer the Browning Auto-5 12 gauge for both bird and deer.
    thora Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Jul 2, 2009, 06:08 PM
    I use a remington Woodsmaster 30-06 with .180 grain, for deer and hog
    Pest Control Expert

Jul 3, 2009, 02:28 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by thora View Post
    I use a remington Woodsmaster 30-06 with .180 grain, for deer and hog
    I would have thought the 220 grain for hog, or boar anyway, but I've little experience with hogs.
    jmjoseph Posts: 2,727, Reputation: 1244
    Ultra Member

Aug 7, 2009, 09:35 PM
    Catsmine,
    I just found this.
    I use either a Remington 1100 12 gauge, or my grandfather's L.C. Smith 12 double barrel for quail and dove. As for deer, either my trusty Winchester 94(pre 1964), my Remington 742 30-06, or my Winchester model 97 12 gauge shotgun. The 97 is a WWI trench gun. I use a Savage 22-250 for coyotes. My Ruger 10-22 for rabbit and squirrel. And for armadillos my AK47, Walther p38 9mm, or the most quick thing I can grab. I eat all of the above EXCEPT the armadillo. They are a major pest that are non-indigenous to this area.
    Pest Control Expert

Aug 8, 2009, 03:02 AM
    I didn't know armadilloes had spread that far. Mississippi I had heard about.

The 1100 is one of Remington's all time great shotguns. Ranks right up there with Winchester's 94 In my opinion. Is your AK a true Kalashnikov or one of those SKS knockoffs?
    Ultra Member

Aug 8, 2009, 05:22 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Catsmine View Post
    I didn't know armadilloes had spread that far. Mississippi I had heard about.

The 1100 is one of Remington's all time great shotguns. Ranks right up there with Winchester's 94 IMHO. Is your AK a true Kalashnikov or one of those SKS knockoffs?