Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    13ecca Posts: 63, Reputation: 2

Jun 25, 2009, 06:33 AM
    Lifting weights
    Hi guys.
    I am currently trying to loose weight and I though that maybe doing some weights a few times a week would help me.
    I can't afford to join a gym but we do have some weights at home.
    What I'd like to know is what weight to start lifting, what exercises to do with them and when to increase the weight.
    I have never done weights before so I would like to make sure that everything I do is safe :)
    Thanks guys all advice is appreciated.
    X
    Eileen G Posts: 1,571, Reputation: 286
    Ultra Member

Jun 25, 2009, 01:26 PM

Start with bodyweight exercises like squat, press-up, step-up, pull-up, dips, star jumps. Add things like deadlifts (where you pick up a weight from the floor and stand up, keeping your head up and back straight), stiffleg deadlifts, shoulder press, tricep kickbacks, dumbbell rows, curls, wood chopper etc.

Make sure you are doing the exercise right. Exrx.net is great website to show you how to do each exercise. When you are confident you have your form right, increase the weight until you have to struggle to finish ten reps. When you can do ten easily, increase the weight again.
    jenniepepsi Posts: 4,042, Reputation: 533
    Ultra Member

Jun 25, 2009, 01:41 PM

Remember that if you are tryign to LOSE weight, lifting weights may not help, as you will build muscle. Muscle weighs more than fat, so while you will tone out and gain some shape and maybe drop some inches, you may not lose any WEIGHT

Jun 26, 2009, 01:54 AM

Thanks for the advice :)
    Sorry I should have been more specific in my question.
    I am trying to loose weight but I am not going off the scales I am using inches to measure my body, so any weight loss for other exercises and healthy eating or tonning from exercising is great :)
    Thanks again.
    MoodsterMan Posts: 38, Reputation: 5
    -

Jun 26, 2009, 06:04 AM