Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    binx44 Posts: 1,028, Reputation: 88
    Ultra Member

Jun 23, 2009, 10:51 AM
    I'm not a beginner but.
    I'm currently using the vista system with my brand new bought in April dell laptop.. inspiron 1545 I believe to be exact... everyone calls it the inspiron 15 and don't use the last two numbers... what I was wondering was what's all of your opinions on vista?

Also.. I have two buttons on my keyboard that are iffy... as in the number 1 is very stiff and requires almost .5 % more pressure to push compared to the other buttons and my enter button is funny too. Sometimes it won't work or if it does I have to hit it in a specific spot with a decent push behind it... I thought about pulling off the keys and taking a look but upon GENTLE pressure the key didn't pop off like my desktops keys do... would that be because it is brand new?
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Jun 23, 2009, 10:56 AM
    I like Vista, I really find it not more different than XP since I turn off much of the fluff I don't need anyway, especially that pesky User Account Control. I have almost the same laptop as you, I have a Studio 15. I don't have any of the keyboard issue though. Personnaly I would *not* pop up any keys, I'd contact Dell Support.
    Ultra Member

Jun 23, 2009, 11:05 AM

The last time I tried to contact dell support for something simple like a button sticking they tried to charge me 60 bucks... no thanks LOL... I'll just leave it for now and if it doesn't work I'll just take it in and get it looked at at the computer shop...

I like vista too so far. I've left the user account control on because sometimes my hubby uses the laptop and the poor man and technology do not agree with each other...
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Jun 23, 2009, 11:07 AM
    Wise decision about UAC :)
    Ultra Member

Jun 23, 2009, 11:10 AM