Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Serroan Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 12, 2006, 10:13 AM
    Breakthrough Bleeding on Seasonale.
    :confused: :confused: :confused:
    I recently switched from Ortho Lo to Seasonale. This is my first time on Seasonale. I'm 7 days into my second month on Seasonale. The last week of the first month, I started to breakthrough bleed (super light). I believe its been about 10 days of spotting/bleeding. Is this normal and how long does breakthrough bleeding on Seasonale last for you guys? When will it end?
    charlie123 Posts: 93, Reputation: 19

Oct 12, 2006, 12:24 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Serroan
    :confused: :confused: :confused:
    I recently switched from Ortho Lo to Seasonale. This is my first time on Seasonale. I'm 7 days into my second month on Seasonale. The last week of the first month, I started to breakthrough bleed (super light). I believe its been about 10 days of spotting/bleeding. Is this normal and how long does breakthrough bleeding on Seasonale last for you guys?? When will it end?
    I am no expert - but when I switched birth control pills - I too had breakthrough bleeding. I think it's normal - I would wait & see if you have breakthrough bleeding again next month. They may need to increase the hormone level or switch to a different brand of birth control. Please remember too - that when you switch pills you should use another form of birth control - unless you want a little surprise :) But it I were you - I might would call my doctor & ask a nurse. Thank you - and good luck!
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 12, 2006, 12:26 PM
    I have to agree with the answer you got above. Breakthrough bleeding is common when switching forms of birth control because they all have different levels of hormones.

As Charlie123 advised, call your doctor's office and ask the nurse.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question