Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ALparalegal77 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 20, 2009, 10:30 AM
    Very Confused!
    I have a question. I know this may sound dumb but I just got a job as a Paralegal and my boss told me that I would be paid $10/hr at 30 hours a week with contract pay. My question is, "what is contract pay"? I* know that I may supposed to already know but they did not teach that in school. Can anyone provide me a logical answer to this because I am completely clueless. Thank you bunches in advance:confused:

DEANNA
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Jun 20, 2009, 10:35 AM

From your wording the word "contract pay" sounds like he's not going to be taking out any taxes from your paycheck.
    ALparalegal77 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 20, 2009, 09:26 PM
    Thank you lots!
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Jun 21, 2009, 08:47 AM

You also should be careful with this employer. I was a paralegal in Florida for many years and the attorney basically "used" me as a cheap attorney to do certain work for him. Be sure you do only paralegal stuff and not attorney stuff for him so you won't risk your paralegal status. Also if you are a notary, be very careful never to notarize any paperwork without the person showing you proper ID and noting this in the jurat section. I had to decline notarizing things several times due to "Oh I don't have my driver's license with me today" kind of lame excuses.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jun 21, 2009, 09:30 AM

Hello paralegal:

In addition to what twink said, you should know that there are really only two kinds of entity's in the workplace. There are employees and there are contract workers - that's all.