Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cyrus rowshan Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 11, 2006, 04:50 AM
    Removing tiles from concrete
    What kind of tools do I need to remove tiles from concrete slabs?:)
    skiberger Posts: 562, Reputation: 41

Oct 11, 2006, 06:46 AM
    There are flooring removal tools you can get at your local home improvement store.

If all else fails, you may have to use a hammer and chissel. If that doesn't work then you got to get serious and get a small jack hammer.
    ag64 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Oct 13, 2006, 07:08 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by cyrus rowshan
    What kind of tools do I need to remove tiles from concrete slabs?:)
    Hi Cyrus,

I'm no expert, but I recently did the same thing. I just used a hammer and chisel, but it took me several hours, to get up about 3/4 of a bathroom full of mosaic tiles. I stopped at that point because I realized that the concrete below had a few cracks going straight through and the width of the room. I then broke out a 10lb sledge and removed the concrete in chunks (with tile attached in 1/4 of the bath). The point to this story is: don't waste your time pulling off the tiles if you are not going to be able to use the concrete below it. If any tiles are coming up on there own now, pull them up first and inspect the condition of the concrete below. Some cracks can be repaired, but if there is movement from one section to the next, it will probably have to be torn up. Like I said, I'm no expert, just trying to save you some time and energy that I wasted on my bathroom. Good luck!
    bigthunder Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 23, 2006, 09:27 AM
    Can I use a solution to get tiles off concrete

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Removing/breaking concrete? [ 6 Answers ]