Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anjo1982 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jun 12, 2009, 07:08 AM
    How to get your foot in the door when you don't know anyone?
    Almost every job that I have ever had I have gotten because I knew somebody. I'm 28, college degree (Biology) and have worked in biotech, teaching high school and a research assistant. Over the years I've also worked jobs such as painting and construction. All of these jobs I got because I knew somebody.

Two exceptions:
    In high school I had a job delivering pizza that I got by walking into the place and applying. I currently work in retail, where I walked in and applied.

I'm currently looking for jobs in health care or science fields. I've found that you can't just walk in and ask for an application. If you do you are just told to go home and apply online. These places emply hundreds if not thousands of people.
    mudweiser Posts: 2,750, Reputation: 707
    Ultra Member

Jun 12, 2009, 12:52 PM

I didn't know anyone when I moved to this town. I simply threw my resume out there, I also went through those job-connect places. If your interested in a place, fax your resume, email it, send it by mail [mark it confidential so it'll just be opened by the boss], even drop it off in person.

I did that to get my job. The first resume will probably just be skim read, and by the third it'll catch their attention.

Keep trying. That's all I can really say: try. You won't get a job sitting down, you have to get out there and force-feed them your resume.

Also, make your resume sticks out from the bunch. Get some reference letters from your previous employer[s]. Write a great cover letter.

Good luck.
    Sarah
    jjwoodhull Posts: 1,378, Reputation: 239
    Ultra Member

Jun 12, 2009, 01:05 PM
    This is a difficult time to find a job. Explore every possible avenue.