Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ekul Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 29, 2009, 06:58 AM
    Debited instead of credited.
    After drafting the trial balance I discovered that I debited the purchase returns a/c instead of crediting it, what journal entry for the correction is needed?
    dawgsnkats Posts: 130, Reputation: 7

May 29, 2009, 07:03 AM

Credit the account for the amount and debit the contra account for the amoun. Then enter the entry correctly. In essence, you are negating the transaction/journal entry and creating a new correct one. Be sure to write the reason below the entry to justify the correction.
    ekul Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 29, 2009, 07:27 AM
    Thanks for the answer but I'm new to bookkeeping and my course hasn't covered contra accounts yet and so I'm none the wiser. Basically I'm working through unanswered examples to aid my learning and I'm stuck on this example."R Black discovers that the monthly total of goods returned to suppliers in October, amounting to £200, has been debited to the purchase returns account. What journal entry will R Black have to make to correct the error?"
    morgaine300 Posts: 6,561, Reputation: 276
    Uber Member

May 29, 2009, 01:09 PM

You've probably had contra acconts and either never saw the term, or forgot it. It's easy to sort of pass by without realizing it's an important concept. Especially when so many books and instructors teach that Drawing/Dividend is a debit without ever once explaining WHY. (Or perhaps they use another term in the UK.)

A contra account is a negative account. It's the opposite balance of what is normal for that type of account and it always offsets the balance of another account. For instance, assets are debit accounts. A contra asset would be a credit balance.