Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sorry_i_did_it Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 8, 2009, 09:04 PM
    Caught stealing - 'Cash Return Fraud'
    I worked for Old Navy for over 3 years, my bosses always bragged about me to their bosses, and I was one of the best employees they've ever had.

Over a period of 6 or 7 months, I would keep customer's receipts from cash transactions and "return" items and pocket the cash. (It was always right around $20 each time-only a few times where it was a lot more).

It's tough times, I'm a full time college student, and I've had a lot of medical expenses this year (no excuse for doing what I did, but reasons).
    Our Loss Prevention people caught me, got me to write a statement saying I took $875 total (though that figure is what they claim I took ,but I really don't think it was that much - none-the-less I wanted to cooperate as mush as possible)

The LP agent appreciated my cooperation and I agreed to pay $875 back to the company through a repayment plan. He said due to the high amount, they had to report it to the authorities, but they were only going to report $206.11 so it would only be a misdemeanor since I had cooperated, was going to pay it back, and he'd only heard good things about me as an employee.

I was given a citation for 'stealing.' When I showed up to municipal court, the lady at the check in desk said no information had been submitted for my case, so there was nothing I needed to do at that time.

I've been calling the prosecutor's office every week (for a month now) since my original court date to see if anything has been filed, but so far nothing.

I am terrified!

I know the decisions I made were wrong.

I am so scared that this will keep me from ever starting a career after college! And I'm scared that Old Navy will go back on what they said and file a higher amount which may make it a felony.