Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TilNaillon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 26, 2006, 06:18 AM
    End stage renal failure
    My mother has been sent home to die with end stage renal failure and cerebral atrophy. She has been on dialysis for 15 months and doctors tell us let her die in peace. I am having a hard time with this. Is there anything we can try before she leaves us. I can't face the alternative of her dying if there is something else to try.
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Sep 26, 2006, 09:32 AM
    First, I am not a doctor or employed in the medical field. I am a chemist with enough background in the med sciences and enough reading and curiosity to answer some questions. There are other professionals here who will substantiate or correct my post.

Damage to the kidneys at this stage is irreversible and with no cure to my knowledge. Dialysis and transplants are what is usually done. I don't know the details as to why your mother is being categorized as unsuitable for either option.

As for the cerebral atrophy... I'm not sure exactly how all this came on or how its related. My understanding of cerebral atrophy is a loss of function in general or specific areas of the brain. There are some degenerative diseases that are simply beyond my scope or experience, especially some of the multisymptoms ones with no clearly defined cause.

Now, if your kidneys are not functioning properly, you can have confusion and delerium. This, to my knowledge, often can be reversed with proper dialysis.

Can you tell us a little more about what happened? What has been explained to you? Did the cerebral loss occur before the renal issue (renal problems sometimes come on slowly so it can be hard to know)? Give us as much info as you can.
    TilNaillon Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 26, 2006, 11:36 AM