Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    LoveMy3Dogs Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Sep 25, 2006, 08:58 PM
    Why do I bite my fingernails?
    I am a professional very well respected business woman, wife and mother. I cannot stop biting my fingernails! The only way my hands look decent is to wear acrylic nails from the nail salon. I have done this ever since I was in first grade according to my parents. I am now 40.

I want to stop and just grow my own healthy nails, but I bite them without even thinking about it.

My husband continually corrects me about this in public and I get embarrassed.

Please help me stop this terrible habit is you can.
    cari0 Posts: 17, Reputation: 2

Sep 26, 2006, 12:45 PM
    I bite mine too, probably since I was 8 or 10. Same situation, but I don't pay to have mine done, I just go to Wal-Mart and get the cheap ones. I would like to quit, but I just keep doing it even though I tell myself I'm not going to anymore. I've tried the nasty tasting stuff too. I don't know, my nails are paper thin, so even if they grew long they'd probably break right off anyway. It drives me crazy that I can't stop. It's weird, I'm not stressed or anything.
    BIM Posts: 245, Reputation: 50

Sep 26, 2006, 01:04 PM
    I used to bite my nails also. I also did the acrylic nails. When I took the acrylic nails off my nails were completely ruined :eek: So, it took A LOT OF PATIENCE. What I did was I kept them clipped short, and kept a skin colored polish on them. It took me approx. 9 months to grow out where the acrylics were taken off. Then from that point I always kept them polished!! When they are polished I would pick at the polish and not the nail. I finally go tired of polishing my nails all the time.

To this day though I still pick at the polish once in a while. I also find that if I get a tear in my nail (because they are paper thin) I will start biting at that unless I clip it off right away.

I truly feel that nail biting is an addiction!! :p