Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SDGrandma Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 6, 2009, 06:52 AM
    Non-compete clause
    I work for a non medical home health care facility here in South Dakota; I have had 30 years of experience in health care and decided to form my own company. In our local newspaper last Sunday I had a small article which promoted the beginning of my business venture to provide non-medical assistance to folks in their homes. It will be about the same as what I am currently doing now with my employer. My employer apparently saw this and is making noise in a round about way through other people that I signed a non-compete clause. I am working a very few hours for my employer while I get my business up and going, but I do have plans to meet with some potential clients next week. I most likely did sign a con-compete clause and am wondering how I should proceed from here.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

May 6, 2009, 07:19 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by SDGrandma View Post
    I most likely did sign a con-compete clause and am wondering how I should proceed from here.
    Hello Grandma:

Well, you've got to get some certainty. IF you signed a non compete agreement, you need to get a copy and see what specifically you agreed to do.

There's a LOT to do afterwards, because many non-compete agreements aren't enforcable - and others are.

So, check back in when you can tell us what it says. Certainly, your boss isn't hiding the agreement from you, is he?? Clearing the air with HIM would be the first place to start.

excon
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

May 6, 2009, 07:20 AM

If you signed a non compete clause then consult an attorney. The wording of the clause matters.