Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    stuartboyd Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 30, 2009, 10:45 PM
    Understanding wiring diagram with a three speed capacitor controller
    I'm having difficulty understanding the wiring diagram for Hunter Pacific Typhoon ceiling fan? It has a three speed capacitor controller, I can only get it to run at one speed, that's "fast."
    I'm a retired teacher trying to save money by installing this new ceiling fan. This fan has a wall mounted speed control, and the previous one had the switch mounted on the fan and was operated by a pull switch. I decided to put an isolating switch between the mains and the controller, and when I switch the isolating switch, the fan starts at full speed, when the 2 speed controller is off. Can someone please advise me what I've done wrong?
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

May 1, 2009, 07:35 AM
    Can you please supply us with a copy of the wiring diagram and a picture of what you are trying to do, please?
    ceilingfanrepair Posts: 5,733, Reputation: 109
    Uber Member

May 4, 2009, 10:16 PM

What is an isolating switch?
    twobarrels Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 18, 2013, 12:56 AM
    I have a red, black, and green wire coming from my fan.
    I have red, black and green also from the power point, when I hook up a 3 speed variable switch in between there is 3 wires, orange, blue and grey on the switch with a single terminal open which is for incoming power supply.
    so where do I hook the spare red wire which is coming from the fan wires too?
    Kyle_in_rure Posts: 341, Reputation: 10

Jan 18, 2013, 05:01 AM
    @twobarrels. Could you tell us what country you're in? Red and black sound like European or Australian wiring colors.
    Thanks.
    twobarrels Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 18, 2013, 02:44 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post