Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    l0u1se202 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 28, 2009, 03:03 AM
    Bunny behaviour
    I have three neutered, well behaved rabbits whom I love dearly. They live outside in a shed which has been adapted for them, so they have plenty of room to explore and run around when I can't be there to watch them in the garden. I was wondering how I could tell which rabbit was dominant as all three seem to take turns mounting each other and grooming each other and spend most of their time cuddled up together. It isn't important I realise but would love to understand as much as I can about their behavior because I am fascinated.
    shazamataz Posts: 6,642, Reputation: 1244
    Uber Member

Apr 28, 2009, 03:17 AM

Hi louise :)
    Our resident Bunny expert is usually online in a few hours, I'm sure she can help you out :)
    Unknown008 Posts: 8,076, Reputation: 723
    Uber Member

Apr 28, 2009, 03:26 AM

From my point of view, (I'm not an expert), it doesn't seem as if there was a dominant rabbit... each seems to be trying to show their 'dominancy'. We'll see with the expert.
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 28, 2009, 09:14 AM

Although dominance is present in wild rabbits domesticated rabbits usually don't have a dominant bunny. It is possible, but not the norm.

Rabbits in the wild need a hierarchy in order to survive, but domesticated rabbits have adapted to life with their humans and other bunny friends. They have no need for a leader because all their needs are met without having to do any work.

If they are all humping each other, not just one rabbit humping the others, then it's just a form of stress relief or temporarily trying to assert dominance. Sounds to me like your bunny's are all equals in eachothers eyes. :)

It sounds like you have a very nice bunny family, we'd love pictures. :)
    l0u1se202 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 29, 2009, 02:35 AM