Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    inquisitivegir7 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 27, 2009, 08:40 PM
    Will I Get Hired? (wet reckless)
    I graduated from college last year in 2008 and stupidly received a wet reckless. The incident happened in November but with court and everything, it only ended in early April of this year. My question is, should I even bother applying for jobs right now? Or should I wait a while longer? I've been reading things online that if it happened a long time ago, usually employers won't mind, but as mine is still recent, I'm very worried.

I don't have any real work experience except with working at a call center, and for the Institute of Social Research where I called random people and asked them questions for a survey. There's not much else to say except that I graduated CumLaude (it won't let me space the words out), was on the Dean's list, and am a member of the PKP Honor Society. I've also done a lot of community service, but I don't know how meaningful these things are considered at job interviews.

I have an upcoming interview for a job where I'd make calls and appointments for this Security company, and I was wondering what should I tell them. I plan on being honest about my wet reckless, but should I tell them it was a stupid mistake, and be done with it, or give more details?

Basically, it was the night of my friend's wedding. I stopped at a blinking light because I'm not used to driving downtown, and I wasn't sure what to do. I got pulled over for it right after (I probably drove for a total of 8 minutes), my BAC was .08. I did well on the tests except for touching my nose apparently, and when reading the cop's report, I swear he exaggerated! I just couldn't believe what he wrote. My lawyer told me we could fight it to the end, but it wasn't for sure I'd win, and I didn't really have the funds to continue.