Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JoeJoe2x4 Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Apr 21, 2009, 09:27 AM
    Accutane=back and joint pain
    I am in terrible pain as I type this e-mail because I have done more than I should have today. I live with daily pain as a result of Accutane (an acne medication). I was completely healthy without a bit of trouble until 2001 when I took this med for 3 months. I was a nurse working full-time and taking care of 2 small children at that time. It started with my lower back and progressed to all the other joints in my body. I actually had back surgery hoping it would help. Upon a second opinion, the doctor told me I should have never had the surgery in the first place. The surgery made me worse. I, too, have hip pain. There is a girl on one site that is 26 years old and has had 2 hip surgeries because of Accutane. Surgery does help some people, like my mother. I had my lower back fused, and I think that is where I messed up. Also, I realize now that it was the Accutane, and I would have had pain regardless.
    My symptoms mimic rheumatoid arthritis. I have pain all up my spine and all the other joints in my body. I cannot work full-time any longer. When I do work for a few hours, I have to take pain meds and lie down for a while. It has destroyed my ability to be an active mom. I used to swim, bike, and anything else that my family and I decided to do. Now, that is over.
    It has been 8 years for me. I have found that Celebrex and Ultram help so much. I take them both in the morning as soon as my feet hit the floor. I used to wait till I was in excruciating pain before I would take anything, but I just about lost my mind. I decided that taking meds was better than being crazy. I was afraid people would think I was some kind of pill head if I took pain meds. I fought it tooth and nail. I lost.