Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ylaira Posts: 1,193, Reputation: 118
    Ultra Member

Apr 19, 2009, 04:46 PM
    How to increase an appetite?
    I have a hyper acidity and minor gastric reflux. When it hits me, i eat like a bird. Plus I work in a night shift not getting so much sleep. It's so hot and there's a lot of noise. When I arrive from work, I'd rather nap than eat.

Any suggested food or vitamins to take to increase appetite?
    trmpldonagn Posts: 252, Reputation: 15

Apr 19, 2009, 05:01 PM

First, have you talked to your doctor about your condition? Once it's treated it's possible that you'll have more of an appetite. How do you feel upon awakening? And when do you normally eat before going to work? Do you snack during work?

I work these hours too, WHEN I work. I'm only a contractor right now. I rarely ate when I got right home. I would sleep first and then eat a little later. I would bring lunch/or dinner to work and surely eat during my eight hour shift.

Your whole body chemistry is different when you work these hours. Besides the problem that you have, it takes time for your system to get regulated somewhat with these hours. I happen to be a night owl for the most part anyway so I'm used to it. How long have you worked these hours? Have you tried to at least eat something once you get home from work?

In case I misunderstood, I think you're saying when you arrive from work you do mean once you are out of work and get home.
    ylaira Posts: 1,193, Reputation: 118
    Ultra Member

Apr 19, 2009, 05:17 PM