Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tcmsa Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 14, 2009, 04:22 PM
    G 4 visa, do I have to declare tax
    Hi, I am a non resident alien working for an international organization under a G 4 visa.
    I only receive income from my employer (the international organization). Do I have to file a tax declaration?

Thank you,
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 14, 2009, 06:48 PM

Your income is exempt from federal income tax. Still you must file nonresident tax return and Form 8843. By claiming treaty exemption, your taxable income will be nil.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

Apr 14, 2009, 07:16 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by MukatA View Post
    Your income is exempt from federal income tax. Still you must file nonresident tax return and Form 8843. By claiming treaty exemption, your taxable income will be nil.
    Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents
    Thank you,

Now, before I got the G 4 visa I had an A-2 Visa for a number of years, as I previously worked at my country's Consulate. I did not have any other income. Do I also have to file a form for those years? Are there any fines or penalties for not having filed in previous years?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 14, 2009, 10:53 PM

I am not sure, but it appears that you are required to file during A-2 as nonresident.

The interest and penalty is based on tax due. So if there was no tax due you will not have interest or penalty except may be for non filing. But it is safe to file as IRS may send you a letter even after couple of years, and then it will be more difficult.

Apr 30, 2009, 07:38 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by tcmsa View Post
    Thank you,