Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thanthoz Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2009, 03:07 PM
    Prior work ex @ India-MS degree-F1/OPT-Resident of MA - Tax return for Tuttion fee?
    Hello,

After my engineering college degree, I worked in India for about 2 years. Then, I came here to USA-MA by Aug 2007 with F1 visa. I invested my salaries for this education purpose(Master of Science Degree). I did my masters and I have alrady graduated by Aug 2008. I am still in MA with OPT status. I stayed in Boston from Aug 2008 to Aug 2009. I shifted my res address from Boston, MA to Malden,MA from September 2008.

First Question is:
    Am I a resident? I mean in terms of federal as well as state ?
    Should I file NR-EZ form ?

Second Question is:
    As I got my salaries from India(foreign money) for my education purpose (Masters degree - not undergraduation)... can I get Tax Returns for that investment or expense??

I paid $12,600 in Aug/Sep 2007.
    Then $19,220 in Jan 18th 2008.

I got tax free (non-profit org - university) scholarship. This is ~ $11,000 and split between 2007 and 2008.

So can I file for tax return for the above ? At least for that $19,220??

Can some one help me on this?

Thanks.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Apr 12, 2009, 04:00 PM

On F1/OPT you are exempt from residency for 5-years. You must file non-resident tax return Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ and Form 8843.

Your income is not subject to FICA taxes but you must pay federal and state income taxes. On your income you will get deduction based on tax treaty between the U.S. and your country.

Since you are from India, as per tax treaty, you will claim standard deduction of $5,450 instead of itemized deduction. Read: Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

Apr 12, 2009, 04:16 PM