Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Breaddriver Posts: 13, Reputation: -2

Apr 5, 2009, 09:29 AM
    Accident with a bread truck whose liable
    Hi, I have been a bread truck driver for a few years now. I worked for a private owner and he sold his route. So I started a new route with a new private owner. He trained me for a few days and we both agreed I was good to run the route by myself. My first night I hit the top of a building because his truck is a lot higher than my old one. I called the owner and asked him what to do and he told me to just drive out of there. So I listened to him and left. He met up with me and helped me finish the rest of the route. Am I liable for the damage done to his truck? Any help would really be appreciated. I am not on the books with him at this time until I was fully ready to run the route.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 5, 2009, 09:36 AM

I don't know what you mean by liable. His insurance company would pay for the damages. As far as the deductible, if he decides it is your responsibility and you do not pay he may very well sue you and I believe he will win. You were, of course, the driver. He had no responsibility for the accident as he had no control of the vehicle.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Apr 5, 2009, 09:36 AM

Hello driver:

Running the route and whether you're responsible are TWO different things.

You ARE responsible - you wrecked the truck. If you pay him, I don't see why you can't still work for him.

He should have collision insurance, but you'll be responsible for his deductible. If he doesn't have collision, you're responsible for the entire cost...

The bad news doesn't stop there. You AND he, are also responsible for the damage you did to the thing you hit. You're also guilty of leaving the scene of an accident, and that ain't good, either.

excon

Apr 5, 2009, 09:39 AM