Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    High Standards Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 29, 2009, 07:22 PM
    Frustrated and running out of patients.
    :confused:I am having a problem with an employee in the Purchasing Department of our company. About 2 months ago, our company made some personnel reductions and there has been changes in job responsibilities within the company. I was given the task to take over my Managers position and responsibilities. The 2nd person in our department was hired under contract. She has past purchasing experience and brags about it. She also has past experience in our computer working system we use, more than I have. I have over 6 years experience in Materials Management and over 15 years experience in purchasing. My problem with the employee is she is loud when she talks, interrupts when I am on the phone or likes to interrupt conversations when the question is not directed to her. She tends to ignore me and others when asked a direct question, and pretends not to hear us, so we have to repeat ourselves multiply times. She does not finish quotes or projects in a timely matter and the quotes have to be requoted and resubmitted time and time again. We have lost new customers due to her work style or ethics. She will not talk directly to the suppliers, she emails them. I have given her deadlines for these projects and I get these types of responses. "Oh, they have not gotten back to me yet." or "I don't want to make them mad by calling them all the time." and also "I don't want to push them, because we may not get the best quoted price from them." She has also had an attendance issue that I have already discussed with her. She has the personality of a know it all. She can really talk the talk, but she hasn't showed me the walk. Other Managers and I do not get the respect from her like we should. At this point in time we have to talk to her like and watch over her like a teenager. She does what she wants, when she wants to get it do