Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dlnielsen Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 3, 2006, 11:10 PM
    Naturalization
    Hello,

My wife received her green card in November 2003. We had been married over two years and had a child when we applied, so she received a permanent green card from the very beginning. I had been working overseas since 2000, and we were preparing to move back permanently to the US. We were in the US from the end of November until the end of December. We bought a condo in San Diego during that visit, we closed escrow in January of 2004. As I mentioned, we left the US in December of 2003 to close up our affairs overseas. We returned at the end of March 2004 for about 2 weeks, and left again in April. In early August, we returned to the US permanently. The longest period that we were absent from the US was 4 months. We have not left the US since we returned in August 2004.

My question is about Naturalization. According to the BCIS website, my wife is eligible to apply for naturalization after being a lawful permanent resident for 3 years (physical presence), and she can apply 90 days before becoming eligible. The site outlines that the 3 years physical presence can be broken by absence of 6 months or more. My question is, does our two absences, (one 3 months and one 4 months) break physical presence? I contend that since we were in the US in between, it does not break the physical presence. Unfortunately, I am not an expert. If I am correct, my wife is eligible to apply for naturalization now. Could someone shed any light on this situation? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    GaryArt Posts: 43, Reputation: 12

Sep 4, 2006, 01:20 AM
    You are correct. Your wife is eligible to apply 90 days prior to the three years anniversary of the grant of permanent residence.