Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jeffp Posts: 30, Reputation: 7

Sep 2, 2006, 05:52 AM
    DSL jack wiring
    Hi,
    I am a total novice to DSL and don't know completely how it works with existing phone lines. Will I have to rewire all of the jacks in my house to split the phone service from the DSL or does the wall jack just split the service? The wiring in my house 25 years old and the multi colored stuff.
    Any enlightenment would be appreciated.
    I couldn't figure out which thread topic this would go under so if another one would get me a response please advise.

Jeff
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Sep 2, 2006, 05:55 AM
    Actually the DSL modem does that job. Once you have DSL service on your line you will have to these little filters on all that the jacks in your house except the one that your modem is connected to. Your Internet Service Provider usually has very good graphics and instructions for their users. If you have any problems just post back here. :)
    jeffp Posts: 30, Reputation: 7

Sep 2, 2006, 05:58 AM
    Are these filters something I have to install. The ISP says its installation pack includes a modem, software and instructions.
    Thanks
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Sep 2, 2006, 06:12 AM
    DSL filters are extremely simple to fit.
    They just plug into your phone jack and you connect your phone and Modem to the marked sockets.

Have a look here for a picture.

You just need to remember that EVERY phone socket you have something attached to needs to have a filter on it as well.
    rgjoyce Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 10, 2006, 06:37 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffp
    Hi,