Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    satyasaid Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 18, 2009, 06:31 PM
    Filing status and ITIN numbers
    Hello,

I am new to filing taxes in US. I am on H1b visa, and working here from Jan 2008, I worked in 2 States(GA,IL) . My family joined me in Oct
    I met a tax consultant and explained my situation.

He has filed my taxes with the status as single and asked me to apply for the ITIN numbers for my family. Once we get the ITIN numbers he said we can amend and change the status. And file jointly.

My Question is, is this the right process.. some of my friends said we have to file jointly to apply for the ITIN numbers.

Please suggest. If this is not the right way can I caorrect this anyway.

Thanks
    Satya
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 19, 2009, 08:53 AM

No, you do not need to file return as single and then amend you return.

You can file joint return as residents and attach W7 (ITIN applicaiton) with your tax return.
    satyasaid Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 19, 2009, 09:11 AM

Mukta,

Thanks for the reply. My tax consultant has already filed my taxes as Single status. What can I do now.
    Can I sumit W7 forms with the Single Return which is already filed.
    PLease suggest.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

May 12, 2009, 11:23 AM
    If the SINGLE return has already been submitted, file an amendment (Form 1040X) and submit the Forms W-7 to get the ITINs with the amendment.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Filing status as Married Filing Jointly or Filing Separately [ 1 Answers ]